Reconstruction of the neighborhood in the center
The building at Geißstraße 12, which is now home to the Platzhirsch, was built in 1906 as a residential building with a restaurant. After 1900, due to the poor condition of many quarters, 10% of the old city center was redesigned and rebuilt.
Since 1909, the Hans im Glück fountain, created by Joseph Zeitler, has given the neighborhood its name. The redesign produced picturesque little houses in German Renaissance style: especially the archway to the adjoining house and the portal are quite remarkable. The oriel on the upper floor offers guests of the Platzhirsch an excellent view over the hustle and bustle of the square.